Image of a globe flanked by the text 'Resources for Recruitment and Retention, Support in the Workplace' and wrapped in a banner that says 'Plan It.'

Training Intervention Strategies

Addiction Professionals

Examples of certification programs for addiction professionals include:
The National Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC) offers three different levels of certificates for individuals working in the field of addiction counseling. These levels were established at the national level by the NAADAC Certification Commission, which operates as an independent body managing NAADAC’s credentials and education. The type of certification available for each counselor/addiction professional depends upon the experience and education of the applicant. Among the organization's national certification programs are the National Certified Addiction Counselor, Tobacco Addiction Credential and the Masters Addiction Counselor.  
Addiction Technology Transfer Center (ATTC) Networkemphasizes six areas of addiction counseling and treatment to improve outcomes that include: 1) Enhancing Cultural Appropriateness, 2) Developing & Disseminating Tools, 3) Building a Better Workforce, 4) Advancing Knowledge Adoption, 5) Ongoing Assessment & Improvement, and 6) Forging Partnerships. ATTC Network is also creating a Licensing and Certification database that includes requirements for gaining certification and/or licensure as well as contact information for State's various certification boards.  
Regional Centers of the ATTC Network serves the 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Pacific Islands. The ATTC Network operates as 14 individual Regional Centers and a National Office. At the regional level, individual Centers focus primarily on meeting the unique needs in their areas while also supporting national initiatives. An example is the The Northwest Frontier Addiction Technology Transfer Center (NFATTC), part of ATTC serving Alaska, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington, and the Pacific Islands. It provides information on national products, educational programs, certifications, and job information and has created tools for self-evaluation and employee evaluation of substance abuse counselors based on SAMHSA’s TAP 21, Addiction Counseling Competencies The Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes of Professional PracticeNFATTC also offers courses that integrate science and the experience of master clinicians into interactive learning experiences that increase practical knowledge and skill in the delivery of clinical services.
The International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc. (IC&RC) establishes, monitors, and advances reciprocal competency standards for credentialing of professionals. It is one of the largest credentialing organizations in this field that sets international standards for competency-based certification programs through testing and credentialing of addiction professionals. 
A physician may test for a certificate in Addiction Medicine through the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM), which demonstrates that a doctor has met rigorous standards through study, assessment, and evaluation.
State and Sub-State Resources
Each State may offer professional programs for addiction professionals; to find your State’s resource search within your State Web site with appropriate key words or search for your State by using the information on the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium Web site, specifically the IC & RC member board list

Submit your Feedback

Upload or attach a document:

Go to Chapter: