Image of a globe flanked by the text 'Resources for Recruitment and Retention, Support in the Workplace' and wrapped in a banner that says 'Plan It.'

Training Intervention Strategies

Mental Health Professionals

Examples of certification programs for mental health professionals include:
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health provides National Standards on culturally and linguistically appropriate services directed primarily at health care organizations; however, individual providers are encouraged to use these standards to make their practices easier to access by culturally and linguistically diverse populations.  
The Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner(CPRP) credential is recognized in twelve states in the U.S. It is directed by the Certification Commission and chartered in 2001 by the IAPSRS (now USPRA) Board of Directors.
The Association of Intervention Specialist Certification Board (AISCB) offers two levels of certification that include: 1) Board Registered Interventionist 1 (BRI I), and 2) Board Registered Interventionist 2 (BRI II).
The Commission for Case Manager Certification (CCMC) offers a Certified Case Manager credential.
The National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) offers four national certifications, which are different than a license to practice.  
Mental Health America (MHA) provides standards and guidelines for its affiliates with the vision to create a just, humane, and healthy society that provides standards focusing on the mission, vision, and goals of affiliates.
International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) represents 75 Member Boards, including 44 U.S. States, the District of Columbia, two U.S. Territories, and three branches of the U.S. military. Members also include 22 countries and six Native American Territories. IC&RC’s credentials include Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC), Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC), Clinical Supervisor (CS), Prevention Specialist (PS), Certified Criminal Justice Addictions Professional (CCJP), Certified Co-Occurring Disorders Professional (CCDP), and Certified Co-Occurring Disorders Professional Diplomate (CCDPD).
State and Sub-State Resources
Each State may offer professional programs for mental health professionals; to find your State’s resource search within your State Web site with appropriate key words or search for your State by using the information on the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium Web site, specifically the IC & RC member board list. One State certification programs for mental health professionals includes the following: 
  • New York State Office of Mental Health provides guidelines on Mental Health Clinic Standards of Care for Adults that are considered essential for access to and quality of care for persons in need of mental health services. 

Submit your Feedback

Upload or attach a document:

Go to Chapter: